There are no good data about how many children have an allergy to wheat. Even so, wheat is a grain that has been reported to trigger allergy symptoms. Children with a wheat allergy must avoid wheat in all forms.
Always read the entire ingredient label to look for the names of wheat. Wheat ingredients may be within the list of the ingredients. Or it could be listed in a “Contains: Wheat” statement beneath the list of ingredients. The federal Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) requires this. Learn more about the U.S. food allergen labeling law.
FALCPA requires that all packaged foods regulated by the FDA must list "wheat" clearly on the ingredient label if it contains wheat. Advisory statements such as “may contain wheat” or “made in a facility with wheat” are voluntary. Advisory statements are not required by any federal labeling law. Discuss with your doctor if you may eat products with these labels or if you should avoid them.
Did you know that bulgur, malt, and seitan all contain wheat? Wheat may be an added ingredient in flours, baked goods and other products made with alternative grains, such as rice crackers. The FDA food allergen label law requires foods to state if they contain a top 8 allergen such as wheat. But, there are many foods and products that are not covered by the law, so it is still important to know how to read a label for wheat ingredients. Products exempt from plain English labeling rules: (1) Foods that are not regulated by the FDA. (2) Cosmetics and personal care items. (3) Prescription and over-the-counter medications. (4) Toys, crafts and pet food. Download and print our Wheat Allergy Avoidance List and Travel Cards to carry with you and share.
All purpose flour
Bread — any type made with white flour, wheat flour; bread crumbs
Emmer - also known as farro
Flour — atta, club, common, durum, einkorn, emmer, farina, graham, kamut, maida, semolina, spelt, triticale, triticum
Flour — all purpose, bread, bromated, cake, enriched, high gluten, high protein, instant pastry, phosphated, plain, soft wheat, steel ground, stone, ground, self-rising, unbleached, white, whole wheat
Gluten — wheat gluten, vital gluten, vital wheat gluten, fu
Kamut ® — khorasan wheat
Malt, malt extract
Matzo — Matzo meal (also spelled as matzoh, matzah, or matza)
Wheat, whole wheat — wheat berries, wheat bran, whole wheat bread, whole wheat flour, wheat germ, wheat germ oil, wheat protein isolate, wheat starch, wheat sprouts, sprouted wheat
Artificial flavoring, natural flavoring
Food starch*, gelatinized starch, modified starch, modified food starch, vegetable starch
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)
Monosodium glutamate, MSG
Soy sauce, shoyu, tamari, teriyaki sauce
Textured vegetable protein
However, if the product is an FDA regulated food, the word "Wheat" must appear on the label.
*Unless otherwise stated on the food label, the single word “starch” in an ingredient list means corn starch. Starches from other sources should be designated by some non-misleading term that indicates the source of such starch, for example, “wheat starch.” See: Starches Common or Usual Names (FDA)
**Wheat-free and gluten-free oats can be found from special suppliers.
BOTANICAL NAMES OF WHEAT (SOMETIMES FOUND IN PERSONAL CARE ITEMS)
Club wheat (Triticum compactum Host.)
Common wheat (Triticum aestivum L.)
Durum wheat (Triticum durum Desf.)
Einkorn (Triticum monococcum L. subsp. monococcum)
Emmer (Triticum turgidum L. subsp. dicoccon (Schrank) Thell.)
Kamut (Triticum polonicum L.)
Semolina (Triticum durum Desf.)
Spelt (Triticum spelta L.)
Triticale ( x Triticosecale ssp. Wittm.)
Triticum: Triticum aestivum L., Triticum durum Desf., Triticum compactum Host., Triticum spelta L., Triticum durum Desf., Triticum monococcum L. subsp. monococcum, Triticum turgidum L. subsp.dicoccon (Schrank) Thell., Triticum polonicum L., and x Triticosecale spp. Wittm.
Celiac disease is not the same as wheat allergy. Wheat allergy is an immediate immune system reaction to wheat protein. Celiac disease is an autoimmune digestive disease. People with celiac disease cannot eat gluten, one of the proteins found in wheat, barley and rye. When someone with celiac disease eats gluten, it damages their small intestine. The damage then interferes with absorption of nutrients from food.
If you think your body is reacting poorly to wheat and you are suspecting a problem with gluten, it is best not to self-diagnose. Check with your doctor and make certain you do not have a wheat allergy, celiac disease, or some other condition before starting a modified diet.
Cross-reactivity occurs when the proteins in one food are similar to the proteins in another. When that happens, the body's immune system sees them as the same.
With respect to grains like wheat, there is a 20% chance of an allergy to another grain if allergic to one of them. Examples of other grains are barley, rice, corn or oats.¹
Grains contain protein, and when fortified, a good variety of vitamins and minerals. Some minerals in grains include B vitamins and iron. The milling process for grains can also remove important nutrients. So, make sure you choose fortified and enriched grains that replace these nutrients. A serving or two of an enriched and fortified grain at each meal will contribute to meeting important nutritional needs for B vitamins, folacin and iron.
WHEN AVOIDING WHEAT
|SUGGESTED ALTERNATE SOURCES
(if not allergic)
|B Vitamins, Iron||Protein foods: meats, fish, poultry, legumes, eggs, dairy (if safe for your child);
fruit, vegetables, leafy greens, fortified alternate grain products (rice, corn, oats, barley, buckwheat)
Look for fortified and enriched grains can provide the nutrients missed by avoiding wheat. You can substitute flours from alternate grains in recipes to provide the same nutrients as wheat. Using wheat-free alternative flours can be tricky. Follow recipes carefully and become familiar with using alternative grains in recipes.
Learn more about using WHEAT SUBSTITUTES.
Over 1,000 wheat-free recipes are available in KFA's Safe Eats™ Recipes. Search for Wheat-Free Recipes
Chewy Choco Chip Cookies - Top 8 Free
Gluten Free Sandwich Bread
1. Sicherer, SH. (2002). Clinical implications of cross-reactive food allergens. Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology , Volume 108 , Issue 6 , 881 – 890. Retrieved online on August 24 at http://www.jacionline.org/article/S0091-6749(01)63295-0/fulltext.
Medical review March 2015.